School Board

Say thanks to our school board members!

by Randy Ziegenfuss on January 10, 2016

lg_2015 Board pictPublic education is more than just learning the basics of math, science, English and history: it’s a platform for students to reach their potential. It inspires hope for a new generation and a successful future. The Salisbury Township School District exists in part because individuals volunteer their time to make informed decisions about the issues facing public schools. Every January we celebrate these everyday public servants – the nine elected school board members who serve our students and district.

Frank R. Frankenfield, President (8 years)
Samuel P. DeFrank, Vice-President (4 years)
Audrey H. Frick (2 years)
George J. Gatanis (8 years)
Carol A. Klinger (1st year)
Robert J. Kulp (1st year)
Susan M. Lea (1st year)
Christopher J. Spedaliere, Ph.D. (2 years)
Mary J. Ziegler (10 years)

Each school director volunteers approximately 20 hours per month to help make decisions for the Salisbury Township School District and the betterment of our students. They vote on multi-million dollar budgets, hire staff, provide resources for teaching and learning, and provide resources to maintain up-to-date learning spaces, to name a few.

These dedicated volunteers reside in our community. They are our friends, neighbors, community leaders, and engaged parents.

During this month of recognition, we ask you to show your appreciation for their service. Consider showing your gratitude in some way for their time, effort and dedication to the advancement of public education. Thank them for advocating on behalf of our collective interests and making many important decisions throughout the year. Most importantly, thank them for making our students’ success their priority.

Board members will be recognized publicly at meetings on Wednesday, January 13 @ 7:30 PM, Administration Building, and Monday, January 25 @ 7:00 PM, Harry S Truman Elementary School.

School Board Directors Honored

by Randy Ziegenfuss on November 19, 2015

Mr. Giordano, Mr. Frankenfield, Mr. Gatanis, Mr. Mantz

Mr. Giordano, Mr. Frankenfield, Mr. Gatanis, Mr. Mantz

Long-term school directors are being honored across the state by the Pennsylvania School Boards Association at local school board meetings. School directors are recognized for years of service ranging from 8 to 36 years.

The following Salisbury Township School District board members received recognition for their years of service. Each was presented with a certificate adding him to the PSBA “Honor Roll of School Board Service.”

  • Frank Frankenfield – 8 years
  • George Gatanis – 8 years
  • Thomas Mantz – 12 years
  • Russell Giordano – 16 years

Congratulations to these gentlemen and THANK YOU for your tireless service to our district, students and public education!

Public School Funding – Salisbury Township School District

May 2, 2015

On Wednesday, April 22, Board President Russ Giordano represented Salisbury on a panel of local school officials discussing public school funding. See the slideshow below and enlightening notes about the various slides. Public School Funding Panel – April 22, 2015 from Randy Ziegenfuss  Slide 3: Key Financial Data Because of our aid ratio, Salisbury has […]

Read the full article →

A Message of Appreciation from the School Board

May 9, 2013

Last month my family and I celebrated 25 years living in Salisbury. Our involvement with our school district began in the fall of 1988 and continues to today. As both a parent and a board member, I have witnessed our transformation from good to great, from traditional to innovative, from quiet and unassuming to leading […]

1 comment Read the full article →